Center for East—West Relations

The Center of East-West Relations was established in 2008, with the aim of promoting the the revival of the Eastern culture and development of world cultural diversity under the form of globalization, promote the understanding of eastern and western cultures, build respect and trust and achieve a harmonious world that is engaged in the research and exchange between the Orient and the Occident, which provides a wealthy treasure trove for the spirit of humanity.

The center is established with a council and an academic committee. Professor Tian Chenshan is the director of the center, he is a foreign expert at Beijing Foreign Studies University and a researcher at the China Research Center at the University of Hawaii. The vice directors include Zhang Kai and Bian Junfeng respectively. The main task is to promote academic research on the cultures and relationship between the East and West, as well as to provide policy suggestions for relevant departments; to provide related knowledge on the relationship between the East and West to the public, improve the public’s awareness of communication and contact between other civilisations under globalization, strengthen the cultural spirit of the Chinese nation's confidence and self-determination; to promote exchanges and cooperation with foreign academic institutions and scholars and promote the dialogue between civilizations in the context of globalization and post-modern times.

Since its establishment, the center has held several international and national seminars and invited renowned scholars from home and abroad to give lectures. For example: In June 2009, the International Academic Symposium on "The New Vision of East-West Cultural Comparative Studies" was held in collaboration with Nishan Shengyhuan Academy in the hometown of Confucius, Nishan; In October 2009, the International Academic Symposium on "The Financial Crisis and Cultural Revelation" was convened in BFSU; in October 2010, the International Academic Symposium on "100 Years of Confucianism and Oriental Civilizational Revival" held in Nishan, Shandong, etc.

From 2010 until now, the center launched the project "Envoy of Confucianism – Sowing the Seeds of Chinese Culture" successively with the International Confucian Association, Chinese Confucian Research Center, Nishan Shengyuan Academy, Confucius Institute Headquarters, Beijing Sihai Classical Cultural Dissemination Center. The goal is to improve the basic structure of Chinese Traditional Culture in education, communication and propagation within the perspective of the comparison between China and the West, as well as to help people engaged in related work and studies to build an international vision, to master cross-cultural comparative methodologies and create a new realm of cognition to Chinese culture and issues.

Roger T· Ames (Roger T.Ames)

Roger T. Ames was born in 1947 in Toronto, Canada. As a professor at the University of Hawaii, an advisor to Nishan Shengyuan Academy, Chairman of the World Association of Confucian Culture Studies and Vice Chairman of the International Confucian Association, he is an internationally famous expert in Sinology. He is a leading figure in Chinese & Western philosophy and is famous in China and abroad for his translation of books such as theAnalects of Confucius,Sun Tzu’s Art of War,Huainan Tzu andTao Te Ching He was the Chief Editor toPhilosophy of the Occident and Orientas well as theInternational Chinese Book Reviewand the author ofConfucian Philosophical Thinking,Thinking from the Han: Self, Truth, and Transcendence in Chinese and Western Culture,Anticipating China: Thinking Through the Narratives of Chinese and Western Culture,the Art of Rulership: A Study into Chinese Political ThoughtandDemocracy if the Dead: Dewey, Confucius and the Hope for Democracy in China. Roger T. Ames once received the guidance of Liu Dianjue and became proficient in classical Chinese, then to one of the most outstanding modern scholars of Classical Studies. In 2013, he was awarded the "Confucius Culture Award" by the 6th World Confucian Congress. Then he won the second "Huilin Prize Award" in 2016.…
+ Learn more

Follow us

  • Download

  • E-mail

  • Weibo

  • WeChat

  • Live Broadcast

北外东西方关系中心
      东西方关系中心成立于2008年,旨在在全球化的形势下致力于促进东方文化的复兴和世界多元文化发展,丰富人类精神宝库,推动东西方文化的理解、尊重和建立互信,为最终实现一个东西方和谐的世界从事研究和交流。 
      中心设有理事会和学术委员会,主任为北京外国语大学外国专家、夏威夷大学中国研究中心研究员田辰山副主任分别为张凯卞俊峰。中心的任务是:推动对东西方文化和关系的学术研究,为相关部门提供政策建议;向公众提供有关东西方关系方面的普及知识,提高公众在全球化形势下与其他文明广泛接触、交流的意识,增强中华民族文化心理的自信和自强的意识;推动与国外相关学术机构和学者的交流与合作,促进全球化形势下及后现代时期各文明的对话。 
      自成立以来,中心举办了数次国际或全国性研讨会,邀请国内外知名学者讲学、讲座几十次。如:2009年6月 与尼山圣源书院在山东孔子的故乡尼山举办的“东西文化比较的新视野:安乐哲师生论道”国际学术研讨会;2009年10月在北外召开的“金融危机及其文化启示” 国际学术研讨会;2010年10月在山东尼山举办的“百年儒学与东方文明复兴”国际学术研讨会等等。 
      2010年-2017,该中心先后与国际儒联联合会,中国孔子研究院,尼山圣源书院,孔子学院总部/国家汉办,北京四海经典文化传播中心合作,启动了“儒学使者--儒学与中国文化传播‘种子师资’培养”项目,目标是促进中西比较视野下中国传统文化基本结构的教育、研究、交流和传播,帮助从事相关领域工作和学习的人员建立国际化视野,掌握跨文化比较方法论,开创对中国文化与现实问题认知的新境界。

安乐哲 (Roger T.Ames)

安乐哲(RogerT.Ames),1947年生于加拿大多伦多,国际知名汉学大师、美国夏威夷大学教授、尼山圣源书院顾问、世界儒学文化研究联合会会长、国际儒联联合会副主席。 他是中西比较哲学界的领军人物,更因翻译了《论语》《孙子兵法》《淮南子》《道德经》等书而蜚声海内外。主编《东西方哲学》、《国际中国书评》,著有《孔子哲学思微》、《汉哲学思维的文化探源》、《期待中国:探求中国和西方的文化叙述》、《主术:中国古代政治思想研究》、《先哲的民主:杜威、孔子和中国民主之希望》。安乐哲先生曾接受过刘殿爵先生的指导,精通文言文,是当代杰出古典学家之一。2013年,荣获第六届世界儒学大会颁发“孔子文化奖”。2016年,荣获第二届“会林文化奖”。…
+ 详细了解

互动交流

  • 下载专区

  • 企业邮箱

  • 官方微博

  • 一多不分微信

    公众号

  • 一多不分讲堂

    直播号